What does the St Georges Basin catchment include?

    The major townships within the study area are - St Georges Basin, Sussex Inlet, Sanctuary Point, Basin View, Badgee, Erowal Bay, Bream Beach, Wrights Beach, Riviera Keys Canal, Old Erowal Bay, Wandandian and Tomerong.

    The catchment area inself is 315.8 sq. km essentially draining areas east of Braidwood Road and the Estuary area is 40.9 sq. km with a permanently open entrance at the mouth of Sussex Inlet. 

    The surface area of the Basin is 37 sq. km., which is approximately 10% of the total catchment area. 

    The catchment area of the Basin contains a number of creeks and some of the main creeks are Wandandian Creek, Tomerong/Cockrow Creek, Cow Creek, Tullarwalla Creek and Warrowing Creek. 

    The Basin connects to the ocean through the Sussex Inlet Channel and there are no recorded periods of closure of the basin’s entrance.